10th anniversary Gala Concert

Sat 13 May | 8:00 PM     The Great Barn

TICKETS: £20 | £40 with pre-concert supper (two-course meal with drinks + reserved seating – 40 places available)


For the first time all members of Hellensmusic will be playing on stage together, 16 musicians will perform a programme of great-works from Strauss, Schoenberg
and Chopin reimagined, to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Featuring internationally acclaimed pianist and Hellensmusic founder Christian Blackshaw as our starring soloist.

Alena Baeva (violin), Maya Iwabuchi (violin), Nicolas Dupont (violin), Máté Szücs (viola), Vicki Powell (viola), Bruno Delepelaire (cello), Ioan Baranga (doble bass), Matthew Hunt (Clarinet), Christian Blackshaw (piano).

Masterclass students: Jeremiah Blacklow (violin), Anna Im (violin), 
Johannes Rosenberg (violin), Pau Planell Molist (viola), Aiden Sullivan (viola), Killian White (cello
), George Wilkes (cello), 
Alex Frankin (oboe), 
Patrick Bolton (bassoon), Silvia Bettoldi (French horn).

The programme comprises reworkings of three celebrated compositions, all of which also have an assured place on the concert platform in their newer form. Till Eulenspiegel was a medieval German peasant, a rebel against authority and a trickster, known for his daring antics which are ingeniously reflected in Strauss’ full orchestral score. This later transcription for violin, clarinet, horn, bassoon and double bass is a ‘tongue-in-cheek’ frolic.  Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht is a musical portrayal of various stages of a poem which tells of a moonlit walk of two lovers in a dark forest: there are passages of ethereal beauty in this impassioned work. It was originally written for String Sextet, but is more often heard in its later String Orchestra arrangement. There is such intimacy in Chopin’s Piano Concerto No 2 that this scaled-down chamber version seems most apt, and the deeply touching nocturne-like slow movement especially so. Its Finale is sure to bring the concert to a ravishing close.

Richard Strauss  
Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders
Verklärte Nacht Op 4 (string orchestra version)
Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor

Pre-concert supper
There will be 40 pre-concert suppers available for this concert. These include:
– Two course meal (vegetarian option available)
– Glass of wine
– Reserved seating
You can book your dinner together with your ticket at check-out.
If you book a pre-concert supper please arrive at Hellens by 6.30pm.