Sat 14 May | 8:00 PM

TICKETS: General £20 / Students full-time education free


E. Dohnányi, Z. Kodály, B. Bartók

Maya Iwabuchi (violin), Agnes Langer (violin), Máté Szücs (viola), Alice Neary (cello), Matthew Hunt (clarinet), Julien Quentin (piano)

Leading Hungarian composers are showcased in this programme. The multi-faceted five-movement Serenade for String Trio by the young Dohnányi has Magyar elements but the composer’s roots are embedded in German romanticism. The music of Bartók and Kodály, however, is steeped in Hungarian folk music, a life-long preoccupation for them both. In Kodály’s Adagio, sonorous harmonies on the piano wonderfully complement the viola’s heartfelt melody. Bartók’s Contrasts, in which two dances flank a movement entitled ‘Relaxation’, is variegated, exploring the different timbres of clarinet, violin and piano. The concert ends with Bartok’s youthful and colourful Piano Quintet, a fascinating blend of old and new, mercifully rescued from obscurity.

E. Dohnányi Serenade in C Major for String Trio, Op.10
Z. Kodály Adagio for Viola and Piano
B. Bartók Contrasts for Violin, Clarinet and Piano, Sz. 111
B. Bartók Piano Quintet in C major, Sz. 23