Wed 11 May | 8:00 PM

TICKETS: General 20€ / Students full time education - free


J. Haydn, Howard Skempton, L. V. Beethoven, P. I. Tchaikovsky

The first half of the recital that opens Hellensmusic 2022 features two wonderful and starkly contrasting sets of variations, namely, the Haydn, a nuanced work of the utmost delicacy in which the variations stem from two different themes; and the Beethoven, revolutionary with its ever-changing key, metre and mood. They flank six short pieces by the experimental composer Howard Skempton: this is minimalist music of great economy, the material pared down to its bare essentials. The overall tone of the character pieces that make up Tchaikovsky’s expansive composition ‘The Seasons’ is one of intimacy rather than grandeur, though the work offers a variety of moods to reflect the twelve months of the year and their evocative subtitles.

J. Haydn Variations in F minor, Hob. XVII:6
Howard Skempton Six Pieces: Saltaire Melody; Sweet Chariot; Chorale; Rumba; Well, well, Cornelius; Swedish Caprice
L. V. Beethoven 6 variations in F major, Op.34
P. I. Tchaikovsky The Seasons, Op.37a