Composers and Muses: Brahms, Widmann and C. Schumann

Thu 11 May | 8:00 PM     The Great Barn

TICKETS: £20 / £40 with pre-concert supper (two-course meal with drinks + reserved seating - only 20 places available)


Alena Baeva (violin), Maya Iwabuchi (violin), Nicolas Dupont (violin), Máté Szücs (viola), Vicki Powell (viola), Bruno Delepelaire (cello), Matthew Hunt (clarinet), Julien Quentin (piano)

This all-German programme begins and ends with music from Brahms’ ‘Indian Summer’.  It opens with his Clarinet Trio, one of four works he wrote for the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld, whose playing had so transported the composer.  Largely introspective, it is tinged with melancholy and infused with autumnal colours.  His String Quintet No 2 is a work of grandeur and wonderful sonority, irresistible right from its riveting opening bars.  Between these two compositions will be heard a modern and highly evocative piece by Widmann, which begins with a lamenting clarinet solo, and then, after the interval, the delightful Three Romances for violin and piano by Brahms’ great friend Clara Schumann, wherein pathos, poignancy and flowing lyricism are all to be found.

Clarinet Trio in A minor Op 114
Tränen der Musen (Tears of the Muses)
Clara Schumann 
Three Romances Op 22
String Quintet No 2 in G Op 111

Pre-concert supper
There will be 20 pre-concert suppers available for this concert. These include:
– Two course meal (vegetarian option available)
– Glass of wine
– Reserved seating
You can book your dinner together with your ticket at check-out.
If you book a pre-concert supper please arrive at Hellens by 6.30pm.