Thu 12th at 8:00 PM
TICKETS: General 20€ / Students full time education - free

H. Howells, D. Shostakovich, A. Dvorak

Maya Iwabuchi (violin), Agnes Langer (violin), Máté Szücs (viola), Alice Neary (cello), Matthew Hunt
(clarinet), Christian Blackshaw (piano)

This programme comprises three compositions which have all made their mark in their respective fields within chamber music. The quintessentially English, yet mystic, work by Herbert Howells not only has a ‘vocal’ quality (as one might expect from a supreme master of choral music) but is also groundbreaking. Abounding in lyricism and infused with folk- inspired melody, Dvorak’s captivating Second Piano Quintet runs the whole gamut of emotions, often in close juxtaposition. Between these two compositions will be heard Shostakovich’s final work, one of resignation rather than unbearable sadness, completed shortly before his death: dark, though serene, and atmospheric to the core, it makes the clearest reference in the closing Adagio to Beethoven’s ‘Moonlight’ Sonata.

H. Howells Rhapsodic Quintet, Op.31
D. Shostakovich Viola Sonata, Op. 147
A. Dvorak Piano Quintet No 2 in A major, Op. 81