Fri 13 May | 7:00 PM

TICKETS: General 20€ / Students full time education - free


Fanny Mendelssohn, J. Brahms , W. A. Mozart

Maya Iwabuchi (violin), Agnes Langer (violin), Máté Szücs (viola), Alice Neary (cello), Matthew Hunt (clarinet), Julien Quentin (piano)

An unjustly neglected quartet precedes two celebrated works  in this programme. Fanny Mendelssohn was a prolific composer whose music deserves a wider audience. Her only String Quartet is unendingly lyrical, in turns soulful and vibrant. It was the mellifluous playing of Anton Stadler that was the inspiration behind the creation of Mozart’s sublime Clarinet Quintet, one of the jewels of the Classical period, a work of rapt beauty and perfect symmetry in which any rivalry between the five instruments is purely fraternal. Brahms’ passionate and intense C minor Piano Quartet has elements both of youthfulness and of the deepest maturity – perhaps unsurprisingly, as the composer embarked upon it in his early twenties but did not complete it until almost twenty years later.

Fanny Mendelssohn String Quartet in E flat major
J. Brahms Piano Quartet No 3 in C minor, Op.60
W. A. Mozart Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581